Glowing Skin Smoothie

HELLO!

How are you?!

Let me just say that I have missed blogging so much.  Luckily, I am currently on spring break from my second semester of my junior year of college, and I am hoping this means I have some spare time to spend sharing stories, recipes and laughs with you all. 🙂

For my spring break, I am spending some time in my home town of Billings, Montana.  After a fun weekend with friends in Bozeman, today was my first full day in Billings and it was great!  I started off the day with a jog in the rain and a short walk with my sweet baby girl Lizzie.

Just look at that face.

012

After some fresh air, I was craving a smoothie!  Which brings me to my next point: The Glowing Skin Smoothie.

IMG_6663

This elixcer is magic friends, pure magic.  About a week ago I made it on a whim before heading to an OULA class and just a few hours after I drank it I noticed my skin had a healthy glow.  Or maybe I was just extra sweaty after class?  But maybe not because soon after class one of my sorority sisters said to me, “My oh my, why is your skin so perfect?”

Hmm…no one has ever said that to me before.  I’ve had a shiny forehead since the fifth grade so this was a shocking statement indeed.

Now I’m no doctor, but I’m convinced that the smoothie was a possible cause of my healthy skin glow.

When I made this smoothie, I couldn’t help but laugh because I felt like I was throwing every random ingredient I could find in my blender but I powered through and, man, am I glad I did.  The recipe goes a little something like this:

  • 1/2 cup of chopped, raw carrots
  • 1/3 cup chopped cucumber
  • 1 small to medium sized orange
  • 1/2 ripe frozen banana
  • enough milk, almond milk or soy milk to get everything moving
  • ice

I know.

No, really I know!

IMG_6657

Cucumbers and bananas in the same smoothie??

I know you think I’ve lost my marbles but have a little more faith than Lizzie and just try it :)!

IMG_6655

And when you do, make sure you are using a quality blender or you might end up with banana cucumber salsa…and nobody wants that.

WARNING:

People may flatter you excessively with comments about the beauty of your skin after consumption of this drink.  Keep your cool.

On that note, I’m off to enjoy a day of catching up on homework, walking my dog, taking an OULA class and spending time with the family.  Let me know if you try the new smoothie 🙂

Quote of the Day!

Leave a Reply

