Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bites

Hi hi!

How doing today?

I am good good good as I am curled up on the couch with a warm fleece blanket relaxing before I head out for a day of work at my seasonal, holiday break job at JC Penney.  But I don’t have much patience today for small talk today because these cookie dough bites are slightly, nearly, maybe THE BEST THING EVER.

IMG_5815

GAH.

A reason I am so jacked about these is because I was very nervous to try this recipe.  I was sure they would be a flop.

Why?!  How could cookie dough bites be a flop??

Perhaps because these cookie dough bites contain chick peas.

No, it’s not like one little bean just slipped in the batter; actually, the beans are the main ingredient friends.

When I told my mom what new treat I was planning on making, she was not too keen on the idea.  No sir she was not.  “Bean cookies?  Why??  Ew.”

So I didn’t have much support in taking on this new adventure, but sometimes you just gotta shake it off and do your thang.  Haters gonna hate, eh?

And take a gander at how the dough turned out.  Can these really be all that bad?  I think not!

IMG_5816

They are actually delicious, extremely easy and really good for you!  They’re basically just a ball of baked beans with chocolate!  Hurray!

I wish I could say I came up with this genius  plan all on my own but it would be a lie.  I modified my recipe from the Texanerin Baker.

Here is what you need!

  • 1 can or 1 cup chickpeas (I used the canned variety after draining, rinsing, and patting them dry)
  • 3 to 4 dried prunes (these were not in the original recipe but I through a few in for extra sweetness!)
  • 1/4 cup vanilla yogurt (keeps ’em moist!)
  • 1/2 cup nut butter (I used the old standby, Peanut Butter!)
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup of oats
  • a dash of salt
  • one teaspoon vanilla
  • a dash of cinnamon (optional but adds great flavor me thinks)
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup dark or semi-sweet or milk chocolate chips

Here is what you do!

  • Preheat oven to 375
  • Get out your food processor.
  • ***I’m sorry guys but this is one of those recipes that is “food processor necessary.”  I’ve heard rumors that it will break a blender since the dough is so thick.  If you are REALLY determined to make these without a food processor…….you probably can.  The key is to get those chickpeas into a smooth paste.  This could be done with a strong, powerful, high-speed blender (but be warned about the breaking!), with a strong hand mixer, or some serious fork mashing.
  • Put everything in the food processor.  Beans go first.  Next add the yogurt and prunes.  Next add honey, oats and nut butter.  And finally add your salt, vanilla and cinnamon.
  • Blend Blend BLEND until it is smooth like wine! Really, really thick brown wine.  Mmm.
  • Then stir in your chocolate!
  • Scoop out small balls of dough…about 1/4 cup each…and place balls on a cookie sheet.
  • Bake for 10 minutes
  • Let cool and enjoy 😀

IMG_5819

Now the original author of these little gems says they are not good cold.  She insists that they are always reheated a little in the microwave before eating.

Now I don’t know about this because, personally, I loved the dough and I don’t think they are half bad cold.  But then again I do also enjoy eating cold spaghetti sauce straight from the jar sooooooooo….can I really be trusted….

IMG_5818

It’s hard to say.  But I do know for certain that these cookie dough bites are the best thing I have baked in a long time!  Not to mention they are a great treat for gluten-free friends.  They can be vegan too if you omit the yogurt for more chick peas or a vegan yogurt substitute!

Besides a hot batch of bean cookies, here is what’s new with me!

I’ve enjoyed a relaxing, refreshing holiday break from school at home with my family and friends.

I visited my boyfriend who lives in North Dakota and I made it out alive without freezing.  What a relief!

I am excited for a semester filled with classes that I am excited to take!  Think classes such as introduction to guitar, methods of teaching health enhancement, and maybe a painting class. 😀

My heart is smiling because it is almost time to return to MisSOULa…my favorite.

Well, I’m signing off to start the day.  Take the plunge.  Put the beans with the chocolate.  Just do it.

 

Quote of the Day

Leave a Reply

