Banana Oat Yogurt Muffins

Howdy!

Well…here we are again.  It’s only been about a month since my last post…so yep….it is safe to say I do not get an A+ for consistent posting this year.

But hey!  It’s not like I haven’t been up to very important things in the meantime.

Like daydreaming about summer days spent on the lake and in the mountains with some of the craziest people I know, my fellow camp counselors.

Rockin’ out at the Macklemore concert.  Dear lordy.  It was the best.

Quoting (and missing) my favorite TV show ever, The Office.

And not running!  Because it is just too dang cold and slippery out there for an uncoordinated fool like myself to be speeding around.

I have been dancing my little booty off though as I work towards gaining my OULA fitness certification.  It has been one of the most challenging, rewarding, FUN, and exciting experiences of my life.  I hope to one day write a nice blog post on all that I have learned from OULA.

Ooh!  And I finished up another semester of college.  Thank the good lordy it ended because I was losing motivation fast towards the end of it.

What has been new in your life?  Have you met any celebrities lately?  Found an unlimited supply of free, delicious dark chocolate??  Have you seen the new, fabulous movie Frozen?!?!

Oh, you haven’t done any of that huh?  That makes two of us… 😉

Okay so some of you might be wondering…What about the muffins?!?!?!

DSC01982

Here they are!  Yes, I actually do have more than just a rambling of thoughts.  I have a really delicious, easy, high fiber, whole grain, naturally sweetened, awesome muffin recipe for YOU!

I adapted this recipe from the blog Honest Fare.

For my adaptations: I substituted Greek blueberry flavored yogurt for plain yogurt, honey for brown sugar, and I threw in a few handfuls of fresh blueberries.  Boom.

DSC01985

These muffins are soft, chewy, sweet, and flavorful.  I absolutely love them because when they bake, they fill your kitchen with that sweet, yummy blueberry muffin feel but you can feel really good eating them because they will fill you up and keep you going strong for hours!  Since they are made with oats and oat flour instead of refined flour, they are chock full of fiber and protein.  Booyah!

Now, I could take the time to type up the whole recipe and procedure but, you know, The Barefoot Contessa (my favorite show on the cooking channel) is coming on soon, and I really have to be prompt and ready to give it my full attention.  Therefore, I am going to send you offer to Honest Fare and you can follow their directions.  Just click here!

***And if you want to make the same muffins that I did, remember to make these important substitutions.

*Use a 1/2 cup of blueberry flavored Greek yogurt instead of plain yogurt (any flavor will do though.  Peach or raspberry would be splendid!)

*Substitute 1/4 cup of honey for the 1/3 cup of brown sugar

*Toss in a 1/2 cup of fresh or frozen blueberries before baking the muffins

DSC01980

Let me know how these muffins turn out for you if you end up making them.  I am in love <3.  And remember, if these muffins are not going to be eaten up right away the best way to keep them fresh is to wrap them in plastic wrap and pop them in the freezer.  Then you can pull them out whenever and pop them in the microwave for a minute or so for that fresh-baked muffin taste.  That microwave step sure is vital folks because gnawing on a frozen chunk of muffin is a rough start to the day.

Well friends, it would appear that the Christmas season is upon us, and this girl has a lot of painting to get done for gifts.  I hope you have a wonderful Saturday!  Feel free to comment with any questions about the muffs.  And enjoy this quote of the day!

#NelsonMandela

2 thoughts on “Banana Oat Yogurt Muffins

  1. This is wonderful!! Those muffins look awesome and since Kayla found out she’s gluten intolerant I’m always looking for great recipes! I’m so excited to read your blog post on Oula–have a wonderful Christmas break! Happy Holidays!!

Leave a Reply

