A Post About Everything

Gouda morning everybody!

My friend Kathleen has got me in the habit of saying “gouda” in replace of good.

People will ask me, “How are you today, Makenzie?”

“Oh you know, just gouda, yourself??”

They think I’m off my rocker.  It’s fine.

Lately it feels like blogging is on the back burner because it has been awhile since I’ve written a sold post packed with a reflection on my day, a workout or a recipe.  So today, I present you with all three 😀 I hope you can take something useful away from it!

Today started off with a cardio mix up workout that never fails to beat boredom at the gym.  Instead of working through forty minutes of cardio on one machine; you break it up into intervals of 10 minutes each of different aerobic exercises.  I did:

  • 10 minutes elliptical
  • 10 minutes cycling
  • 10 minutes stair stepper
  • 10 minutes running

And if you want to extend 4o minutes to 50 minutes, go right on ahead!  If you want to ease back to 30 minutes, that’s cool too 🙂  Other great options for cardio intervals are incline walking or using the row machine.  I finished up the workout with some squats, squat jumps and planks before heading home for breakfast.

Peanut butter banana toast…

IMG_4049

…and a wine glass full of blended spinach, berries, clementines, the other half of the banana and ice 😀

IMG_4050

There is something great and adventurous about eating your breakfast on the floor and drinking your smoothie from a wine glass.  That is about as rebellious as it gets for me folks.

Now onto the recipe!

I have just about perfected these no bake chocolate peanut butter banana oat balls.  They are perfect for my cooking situation because they don’t require an oven and the ingrediants are super simple and always on hand!  Take a gander at these little treasures:

IMG_4073

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1.5 tablespoons of dark chocolate chips or 1 big square of dark chocolate
  • 5 tablespoons peanut butter
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 2/3 cup oats
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tablespoon of grape nuts or some other crunchy cereal

Here’s what you do:

  • Mash the banana
  • Add chocolate and microwave for 30 seconds
  • Stir in peanut butter, honey, oats, salt and crunchy cereal until think and combined,  The dough should form a big clumpy ball but this might take a little elbow grease and consistent stirring!
  • Roll the dough into balls and enjoy 🙂

For a firmer no bake cookie you can refrigerate the balls.  I absolutely love these because they are so easy, so simple and they have all my favorite ingredients in one bite.  Boom swagger.

Last night I didn’t have any homework (wahsfoisdkfmoewv!!) so I didn’ stop there.  I also made chocolate raspberry no bakes with fresh raspberries!

IMG_4075

While my lovely group of test tasters claimed that these no bakes were just as good as the PB chocolate ones, I was not completely satisfied with the recipe.  I’ll have to tweak it a little more before I share it with y’all!  They were especially yummy but especially…slimey….hmmph.

To end this post, I’d like to share what’s been on my heart since the tragedy in Boston.

While there are lots of feelings and thoughts that went through my  mind after this tragedy, the perspective I’ve chosen to focus most on is this:

Every day is a gift.

Life is not guaranteed.

Instead of spending my time yearning for things I don’t have or complaining about conditions I don’t like; I want to spend my time being thankful for what I do have and making positive changes in areas I can control.

Because at the end of the day, I don’t know how much time on earth I have left.  But I intend to make the most of it.

Here’s a link to Julie’s blog and ways that you can help Boston.

I hope everyone truly enjoys their day today.

4 thoughts on “A Post About Everything

  1. Hey Pretty, it’s always good to read about simple joys…if we could all just be nice to each other like Ellen says, wouldnt our world it be a better place? Dont stop blogging, it will and does influence others. Love you, Mom

  2. Haha, Mackenzie, you’re gorgeous. I love reading your writing… it’s refreshing, honest and real. I definitely feel the same as you about the Boston tragedy. The only good thing about these types of circumstances is the opportunity to see the triumph and strength of the human spirit in times of adversity. I continue to pray for all of those in Boston and elsewhere. Back to your breakfast – love the fact that I can see your banana toast reflected on the side of your glass, yum! Nutritious, delicious and a little bit arty 😉 Your little snack balls look gorgeous too. Great flavour combo! xx

    1. Laura!! This is one of the sweetest comments that has ever been left on my blog. THANK YOU 🙂 You made my day! Let me know if you try the snack balls. Have a great night!!

Leave a Reply

