Bad Food?

Good morning everyone and happy Thursday!  The following post was intended for yesterday…..one day I’ll be caught up and posting in the present!!

 

How is everyone’s morning going??

Mine started out with a tasty bowl of oats, applesauce, blueberries, banana, a sprinkle of cinnamon and creamy PB 😀

Image

I like/need to start my Monday and Wednesday off with a filling breakfast to get me through 4 hours of classes and yoga.  A bowl of oats, fruit and nut butter never ever fails to do the trick!

Yesterday, a comment left my by my Dad about sweet treats inspired me to share one of the best perspectives I’ve learned this semester in my health issues of children and adolescents class.

Ready for it??

When talking to yourself, your kids or your students: Avoid categorizing foods as “good foods” and “bad foods”.

As my health teacher put it, who wants to think of chocolate chip cookie as “bad”?

If you’re going to label food try using “always foods” and “sometimes foods”.

Always foods help our bodies stay strong and function well.  For me, always foods include whole grains like oats, whole grain pasta, brown rice and occasional quinoa.

001

Fruit!

003

Vegetables!

004

And protein in the form of legumes, nuts, dairy, fish and a little meat 🙂

IMG_3930

While mint chocolate chip ice cream and french fries don’t contain high amounts of fiber, vitamins or protein, let’s be real.  They taste amazing.

And while these treats might not be the best fuel for our bodies, they still have a place in a healthy diet.

Mint chocolate chip ice cream is good for the soul sista! 🙂

As long as you’re eating a balanced and nutritious diet, you have every right to treat yourself to a reasonably sized portion of your favorite treat!  It’s very healthy indeed to be able to indulge in your favorite treat without feelings of guilt or anxiety.

As Hillary, the nutrition nut on the run, says: “Sweat daily, indulge often.”

Amen.

May I suggest indulging in a peanut butter cookie dipped in dark chocolate from the Good Food store in Missoula?  I know from experience; it won’t let you down.  Promise.

IMG_4016

I’d like to end this post with a fun recipe I’ve seen popping up on Pinterest a lot:  Peanut Butter Banana Sushi

It sounds a little sketchy but I really liked it!

All you need is:

  • tortilla (I used honey wheat and it was great!)
  • creamy or crunchy PB
  • crunchy cereal like Kashi GO Lean crunch or granola
  • honey
  • Cinnamon
  • large, ripe banana

You spread the tortilla with the nut butter, then sprinkle it with the cereal and the cinnamon, then drizzle the tortilla with honey and finally put your banana smack dab it the middle of everything!  My tortilla was huge so I sliced the banana into thirds and spaced it out a little.  Roll up your tortilla nice and tight then slice slice slice and boom!  Sushi 🙂 Yum!

IMG_4006

 

P.S.  Am I the only one that gets hit with surges of Pinterest motivation at the most awkward times?  I made this sushi roll at 10:30 PM a few nights ago and I was so proud…then I realized I wasn’t hungry and then I realized banana turns brown in about 5 seconds if you don’t eat it.  So I shoved it in the freezer and enjoyed it half thawed for breakfast.  I’m a real problem solver 😉

Have a great day everyone!

2 thoughts on “Bad Food?

Leave a Reply

