Spa Day

Ah the spa.

Reading magazines, hot tubs, pedicures, little chocolate filled wafer sticks, iced tea and fresh fruit…

 

 

Walking around in fluffy white robes, writing messages in the little sand boxes and sitting in the pool fountain.  (Nikki, you know what I’m talkin’ about!)

 

 

That’s what I think of when spas come to mind!  Unfortunately, spa people don’t take kindly to customers sitting in their fountains.  Maybe avoid that.

While I didn’t get to sit in any fountains today, this morning was about as close to a day at the spa as ever.  The alarm went off at 6:30 and I dragged myself out of bed to get ready for swimming laps at the school pool.  I never regret an early morning workout but every stinking time it is a real challenge to get myself moving.  It is a challenge but it is worth it 🙂

I snacked on 1/2 a banana with PB and then I biked to the pool where I swam a hot 25 laps.  I forgot my goggles at home so my front crawl was a pretty sad sight with my neck stuck awkwardly out of the water like a distracted turtle.  Lordy lordy.

What really pushed me to complete my workout was the reward of a sit in the sauna afterwards.  I especially enjoy exercising at the pool because the sauna is in the same room as the pool and you’re already sauna ready so you just can’t say no!  stretching, deep breathing and relaxing in the sauna after a good swim leaves me feeling completely rejuvenated.

After a quick shower at the pool (yet another bonus!  you’re showered before you even get home when you swim for a workout booyah!)  I headed home to make myself a cucumber strawberry detox smoothie 🙂

001

Cucumbers in a smoothie??

Yes.  It’s happening.

I found this recipe on Ambitious Kitchen.  It was super easy!  Take a gander at the ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 4 strawberries
  • 1/2 a cucumber (sliced)
  • lots of spinach or kale
  • water or milk
  • ice!

To be honest, I didn’t really taste the cucumber that much BUT I did feel refreshed and energized after downing a tall glass of this green juice.

Was it the smoothie?  Was it the sauna?  Or was it all that swimming with horrible form?

I think it was the combination of the three that helped me start my day feeling  especially energized and rejuvenated.  If you can get yourself to a pool, a sauna or a blender before you start your day tomorrow, I’d bet you have a great chance of starting it off on a good foot!

Fun Fact of the week from health class:

30 minutes of daily aerobic activity contributes to a healthy levels of cholesterol and blood pressure.  Did you know that anaerobic activities such as lifting weights can raise your blood pressure to extremely high levels??  I had no idea!  Make sure to practice proper breathing when lifting weights so you don’t blow a gasket friends!

Running, walking, biking, cycling and swimming are all prime examples of aerobic activity.  Engage in one of these for 30 minutes daily for a strong heart and increased blood flow to the brain!  Aerobic exercise makes you smart and strong…Hurray!

Well, I’m off to finish up some homework and then I’m headed downtown to enjoy a little live music.  Tommorrow is sleep in Friday…holla!

Hope everyone is having a fabulous week 🙂

xoxo

Kenz

One thought on “Spa Day

  1. OMG…we need to go baaaaaaaaaaaack!!! Scottsdale right after LV?? sounds much better then getting your wisdom teeth out dont you think? That’s it, Ive talked myself into it, lets go!!

Leave a Reply

