Baby Got Back

Wassssssssaaaaaa?! How has your weekend been??

After a week of 2 tests, 1 quiz and general busyness (that’s a word right?), I was ready to welcome a weekend of dancing, rapping and running in the sun!

Yes, yes, yes!  The dancing and rapping came into play on Friday because Friday was the first annual Cream Rose Ball at my sorority.

Here’s a hot pic of my super fun date and me!  I wore a pair of too-high-for-clumsy-white girls hot pink high heels which I immediately kicked off once my feet hit the dance floor!  All high heels are good for is a few seconds in the pictures, right?  But if you can drop it like it’s hot in high heels, you have my admiration.

The highlight of the night was probably when “Baby Got Back” came on and I rapped the whole thing to my scared impressed date!  I went on to explain that back in the days of Cross Country, my friend Rachel and I would rap that song while running to keep us entertained….naturally, right?

Then on Saturday Kathleen and I woke up bright and early to redeem our free granola!  Yes it’s true,   Kathleen was the 500th person to like Hillary’s Facebook page and she won the prize.  Well, turns out the grocery store that sells it doesn’t open until 8:56…silly us…we’ll get it another day!

024

I also ran 5 miles as part of the triathlon challenge yesterday 🙂 My plan is to complete five 5 mile runs and a final 1.2 mile run to finish off the 26.2 goal!  It was glorious, the sun was shining and I couldn’t ask for much more.

This challenge has been a lot of fun so far!  The running and biking are going fabbity fab fab…the swimming is not…in fact it’s not existent.  I keep putting it off but today I will do it!  Cross your fingers everyone.

Moving right along to the present, you know what goes great with a Sunday?

Pancakes!

I have been wanting to try Julie’s Greek Yogurt pancakes for foreva and earlier this week  I finally did!

I tweaked them a little and made Sweet Cinnamon Peach Pancakes.

 

008

I used:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup light peach yogurt
  • 3/4 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1 1/2 cup oats
  • sprinkle of salt, cinnamon, and baking powder

Next, I put everything in the blender until the batter was smooth and creamy.  I cooked the cakes on the griddle and served them with a drizzle of honey, sliced banana and an extra sprinkle of cinnamon wouldn’t hurt either!  I hope you get a chance to try these, thanks Julie for the inspiration 🙂  The above recipe makes two hearty servings.  Yum!

 

007

While this pancake recipe is pretty trimmed up and low sugar, maybe you’re not really feeling sweets this morning?

Maybe you had a cookie pizza from Mackenzie River last night (cough cough me and Lauren) so the idea of more sugar doesn’t sound so hot.

In that case, you could make a Mediterranean Breakfast Burrito!

First, I prepped a whole wheat tortilla with lots of spinach, sun-dried tomato, fresh tomato, feta cheese and hot sauce.

030

Next I topped the veggie filled tortilla with hot eggs that I scrambled with pepper and more hot sauce.  Wrap and roll people!

031

This fresh and spicy wrap is a great way to start the day, trust me 🙂

Church, working at the yoga studio, homework and swimming laps gosh dangit is on the agenda today!  Have a great Sunday Y’all 🙂

xoxo

Kenz

One thought on “Baby Got Back

Leave a Reply

