Banana Chocolate Almond Coookie Dough Sunday

An ice cream sunday recipe for your Sunday.  You are welcome 😉

It’s not your traditional dessert though because yesterday I woke up and decided it was time to lay off the sugar.

It was Valentines day week after all so, naturally, I did my best to consume chocolate in all it’s forms.

Brownies, chocolate kisses, dove chocolate, chocolate peanut clusters, chocolate covered strawberries, chocolate oatmeal…

…I swear I could feel the chocolate rushing through my veins as I moved through my yoga poses yesterday morning…

And I’m not completely opposed to that feeling. 😉

But I think it’s time to get back on track with my life and start saving up for Valentines day chocolate spree 2014.

And nothing says back on track like a yummy green smoothie with banana, romaine, milk and chocolate (oops, still addicted!) protein powder.  With a clementine on the side!

  005

I spent the day walking around downtown with my family and studying with my pal Lauren.

When I came home for dinner, I had visions of pasta all up in my head.

Spaghetti squash.

 

002

 

Plus a veggie meat sauce I whipped up (I sautéed chopped red pepper with olives and sun-dried tomatoes.  added ground turkey meat, mariana sauce and sprinkles of garlic salt and oregano!)

003

 

Plus a generous sprinkle of Parmesan and a scoop of humus on the side=the perfect dinner.  Oh and I also added a swirl of spicy hot sirachi 🙂 Yum!

 

004

 

After dinner I worked on a few projects for school and my public relations position…but soon it was time to take a break and eat this bad boy….

007

I am calling this a Banana Chocolate Almond Cookie Dough Sunday 🙂

It’s easy peasy lemon squeezy friends.  Allow me to fill you in:

For the ice cream:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/4 cup plain or vanilla yogurt

Blend banana with yogurt until smooth and creamy!

For the cookie dough:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 ripe banana
  • 1 tablespoon creamy Peanut Butter
  • 3 chopped dark chocolate almonds (or chocolate chips, just get that chocolate in there somehow!)
  • A swirl of honey
  • A sprinkle of salt and cinnamon

Mash the banana.  Mix in the PB until creamy and thick.  Add oats, almonds, honey, salt and cinnamon.  Done!  Try, try, try not to eat it all and put the mixture in the freezer for an hour or so.  When ready to make the blizzard, remove dough from freezer and scrape the frozen dough mixture until it is broken into small chunks.  Add the creamy banana ice cream and stir.

Next I transferred the mixture to a pretty dish and put it back in the freezer to firm up.  When my patience expired I drizzled it with chocolate syrup and sprinkled on a few extra almonds…presto!

Heaven in a cup.

 

008

 

And to make life better, my best pallie and number one fan of this blog, the wise and sexy Rachel gave me a call!

 

 

I love a good chat with Mama Ray.  It always promises laughs, inside jokes and talk about future dance parties.

 

As for today, well church, more homework and my first day working the front desk at a yoga studio are all on the agenda!  Hope everyone has an awesome Sunday 🙂

2 thoughts on “Banana Chocolate Almond Coookie Dough Sunday

Leave a Reply

