Dream Job

Top of the morning to you!  How’s the week going?

I think a word to describe my week would be: Productive.

Since I have yet another glorious week of Christmas break before the spring semester starts I decided to come home for another week.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Missoula.  So much!  But living in an empty, creaky sorority house feels similar to starring in a scary movie at times…I’m not a fan.

I guess I feel productive because in the past couple of days, I’ve managed to fill out two scholarship applications, 1 job application and turn in my resume at Harper and Madison aka my dream job!

Have you been to Harper and Madison??  Think small, cozy cafe on the outskirts of downtown  smack dab in the middle of a neighborhood.

Think brightly colored chalk board menus that change as local ingredients go in and out of season.  Think key lime squares, thick slices of coconut cake and caramel rolls the size of Texas.  Mmmhmmm.  You want to work there too now, don’t you?

In addition to having the best food in Billings, the people at Harper and Madison are consistently kind, gracious and genuine.  Good people and good food…sounds like a perfect work environment to me 🙂  Here are some of my favorites at H & M:

Baked Oatmeal 

Picture source

Thai Chicken Sandwich

Last Day In Btown

YUM!  Cross your fingers for me guys 🙂

Wow…well, I can’t say I planned to gab on and on about Harper and Madison for five years…but once I started talking about it I couldn’t stop!

In addition to busting through all that paper work on my last week off, I made a goal to try new classes at the gym.

I don’t know about you, but I am a creature of habit for sure…especially when it comes to food and exercise.  Oats with peanut butter every morning.  40 minutes on the elliptical for cardio.  Running the same outside route every day.  Always ordering white mint Oreo ice cream at the Big Dipper when there are 50 bajillion other flavors to try.

Now where is the adventure in that?  No where.  So today I tried a class called Turbo Kick Boxing.

I was 10 minutes late.  I had no idea what the teacher meant by upper cut and triple jab.  Why did everyone else look like hard-core boxers and I just looked like an aggressive cheerleader??  It’s really a miracle I didn’t punch another woman in the face since I was always 5 steps behind!

So, yes, I looked like a complete ditz but I still pushed myself harder than I ever would have on my own (the beauty of group fitness!) and the class flew by since it was new.  When it comes to trying new fitness classes, here’s my advice:

You will probably look like a fool.  You might be so behind and off beat that fellow gym members will wonder if you are drunk.  But you have to remember, this is how everyone starts out!  So what if you look a little silly?  Stand in the back! Smile and embrace it 🙂  If you push through those first, awkward classes, it will pay off as you become familiar with the moves.

Pinned Image

 Stick with it!

What is something new you want to incorporate into your fitness routine?

Well I’m off to eat some lunch, a big salad with honey mustard dressing sounds good!  Hope everyone has an awesome Wednesday 🙂

Leave a Reply

