Can’t Fight The Sunshine

Hey, hey, hey!

Can anyone else believe it is Friday?  I can’t.  I just can’t!  This week went so fast.  Which I ‘spose isn’t a bad thing.

I guess time really does fly when you are having fun because I’ve been loving my schedule lately.  A typical week day for me looks like this:

  • Stumble out of bed at 5:40 AM….not loving life.
  • Finish a 40 minute yoga practice at 6:40 AM….and loving life now!
  • BREAKFAST! and getting ready (I’ve tripped over my hair curler cord twice this week?)
  • Go to school at 8 AM and leave between 3 and 4:30 PM.
  • Go to the gym for a little cardio and Ellen watching…I would run with Hal outside but I’m very cautious wimpy when it comes to running on icy roads!
  • Eat dinner…and some chocolate ;).
  • Procrastinate any homework I have by blogging, painting, watching the office and even unloading the dish washer (whatever it takes)
  • Back in bed with the rest of the worlds senior citizens and kindergarteners around 9:30 PM.

And that’s a typical day in the life of me!  My Thursday followed that routine pretty closely until I got home from school.

It was super sunny outside so I decided against going to a crowded, dark gym and opted for a walk around downtown Missoula!

 

019

I bundled up over my “teacher” clothes and set out for a little afternoon adventure.

I had two goals in mind on my walk:

  1. Find a gift for my brothers 18th birthday
  2. Sniff out an awesome desert to split with Halle and Greta after dinner.

I started my walk on a classy note by blasting an upbeat jam by the name of “Call Me Maybe” through my headphones while I walked, and I just couldn’t stop myself from lip sinking along to it in broad daylight.  Good grief.  I have no shame.

The walk was beautiful!  Especially when I got to the bridge, and I simply had to stop to take a picture.

 

014

It is truly a miracle I don’t accidentally walk into poles and walls more often because the scenery in Missoula is always so distracting and breathtaking!

First stop : Butterfly Herbs

016

I love this place!  The walls are lined with endless varieties  of herbs and teas in huge jars.  There are also lotions, perfumes, chocolates, and cards up for sale.

017

While browsing, I knocked over a mint green mug and the loud crash startled the entire store…haha oops!  That was my cue to leave I think.

Next, I stopped in a really cool store called the Runner’s Edge but I couldn’t find/couldn’t afford anything for my brother so I kept on a walking.

And then I remembered that I also was looking for something sweet!

Finally, I found the bakery I was looking for.

013

Bernice’s 🙂

007

Mmmhmmm.  I know, right?

018

After 20 minutes of pacing around the tiny coffee shop bakery, I finally purchased one of the most heavenly baked good’s in all of Missoula.  But, sorry, it’s a surprise 😉

Oh and I bought one of these to eat while I walked.  25 cents for a mini cookies?  Now who in their right mind is going to turn down that.

008

The walk across the bridge was just as pretty on the way back!

015

My last and final stop was a quirky but awesome little shop called Rockin’ Rudy’s.

Rockin’ Rudy’s is especially great because it’s so close to my house!

But today was rough because I couldn’t find it.

I kid you not, there I stood, standing in the middle of the sidewalk scratching my head and wondering how in the world this store had grown feet and moved.  It was like a game of hide and seek gone terribly wrong.

Thank God for the iPhone.  I google mapped it and found out that a big, annoying building was just blocking my view and that I was a mere 25 seconds away!  Let’s just say I don’t have the best sense of direction…in fact, I probably have the absolute worst.

But, good news, I found my way to the door and ended up finding a really, really great present!

I also ran into a pretty handsome little guy in the store…

009

Oh yeah, he was just chilling in the middle of the store.  Only in Missoula friends 😉

010

Isn’t he a pretty kitty though?!  He makes me think of my own cat, Molly, who is most likely sleeping/shedding on my pillow as we speak.  What a diva.

But hey, thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed tagging along for my Thursday adventure!  In my next post, I hope to talk about the veggie packed dinner I made for my girlfriends and I tonight and the dessert I bought at Bernice’s.  It is so gooooood!  Lauren knows what I’m talking about 🙂

Good night everybody 🙂 I hope the sun comes out for you too so you can break away from the typical winter routine and have a little fun outside!

Just try not to get lost like me and life will be easier 😉

One thought on “Can’t Fight The Sunshine

Leave a Reply

