Like A Wavin’ Flag

Good morning everyone!

Did anyone eat a turkey cheese roll up for breakfast today?! I sure hope so. I talked Halle’s ear off yesterday morning on the way to school about how much I loved it….she is a lucky gal.

School went great yesterday!  I fall more in love with the kids everyday.  I can’t believe that I am almost done being in the classroom with these little people…since I go to the school 5 days a week for about 8 hours a day, I have successfully tricked myself into believing that I am a graduated, employed and happy teacher.

False.  Before we know it, I’ll be back on the sorority couch with a sore bum from studying my life away.

Moving on to happier topics: After class, I snacked on a Luna bar that Halle generously bought for me.  Some friends save money for real gifts, we just blow our funds on random food gifts for each other all the time.

I loved this bar!  It was like a lemon cookie…yay!

After my snack, I headed to the gym for a little afternoon exercise…well okay, I sat in the downstairs locker room and played with my iphone for a solid 15 minutes first because my “cookie” had to digest.  Goodness, the excuses I make to procrastinate.

Finally I got myself dressed and headed upstairs for the following workout:

45 minutes of cardio!

  • 10 minutes of running on the treadmill
  • 30 minutes of elliptical
  • 5 minutes of running on the track

I love mixing up my cardio to make it go by quicker!  I also love how Ellen is on when I come to the gym in the afternoon 🙂  Life is good.

For strength training, I made up this little circuit and repeated it two times through:

  • 1 minute front plank
  • 30 second side planks (both sides people!)
  • 50 crunches
  • 50 bicycle crunches
  • 15 reps each of two different arm strengthening machines (sorry, I’m not cool enough to know the names of the machines I used!)
  • 10 reps of the leg press machine
  • 25 calf raises

This circuit could be repeated 3 times if you really wanted to work your muscles!

The thing about workouts (and cooking!) is there is always room for adjustment.  If you look at this workout and think: Seriously?  My grandma could do this in her sleep.  Fair enough.  Just add more time or more reps/weight to the exercises 🙂

Or if it looks too hard, just take away time/weight from the exercises.  Adjust it to fit you 🙂  And then,

Pinned Image

For dinner, Halle and I made another batch of Bruschetta Toasts with raw veggies, turkey and hummus on the side.

005

Heaven.

And we ate our fair share of the no bake cookies for dessert.  It was a great day!  I hope Wednesday is just as good for all of y’all!

Quote of the day:

Pinned Image

Audrey knows what’s up.

Song of the Day:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=syjqTV4Ubag

*Waving Flag by K’naan.  Because it is my favorite song. 

“Let’s rejoice in the beautiful game

and together at the end of the day, we all say,

When I get older, I will be stronger, Just like a Waving Flag.”

Bring it on Wednesday 😉

Leave a Reply

