The Crock Pot; My New BFF

Hey, hey, hey!

So…surprise! New look for the blog…again! My apologies for the sudden changes. I am still trying to figure out this WordPress business and after 4 hours of messing with it on Sunday, I have finally made some progress!

As a consequence of spending way too much time trying to find the perfect green background for the blog, I didn’t have much time to do the actual blogging part of having a blog. And so many good things happened this weekend that I don’t even know where to start!

I guess we could start with Saturday. This girl watched a little football

Seriously though, just a little.  I was easily distracted by other cool stuff like taking pictures of Halle’s aunt’s dogs.

004

These two darlings made me miss my favorite buddy in the kitchen: Little Lizzie. Look at that sweet face.  I miss you too Lizard!

012

When the game got tight and tension was at an all time high, Halle’s aunt let us know that dinner was ready.  But none of the dedicated Broncos fans budged…all except for one…

I happily wandered into the kitchen and filled my plate with Ann’s delicious Thai Peanut Noodles and lots of her fresh green salad.

It was heavenly. Thank you Ann!!!!!!!!!!!!

After dinner,  I went out with some girlfriends for Frozen Yogurt.

005

Oh baby. My true love 🙂  I got a mix of caramel, cheesecake, and chocolate yogurt.  Topped with graham cracker crumbs, cheesecake bites, brownie bites and one chocolate covered raison.  Get yourself some ASAP.

Then Sunday rolled around and I had plans to eat dinner with my dear friends Halle, Kathleen and Greta but we had not decided what was on the menu. So I figured what could be easier than a crock pot dinner?

And now I must also ask, what could be better? My friends and I were so happy with how this recipe turned out! It was warm, colorful, flavorful and filling.

Salsa Crock pot Chicken

013

ingredients:

  • 1.5 pounds chicken breast
  • 2 cups of salsa
  • 1 can of corn
  • 1 can of refried beans
  • 1 sweet potato chopped
  • 2 tablespoons of taco seasoning
  • 2 cups of chopped carrots

007

The secret weapon to awesome salsa chicken: two kinds of salsa.  I used 1 cup of Pace and 1 cup of Mango Peach salsa…perfection.

Friends. This is so easy!  You just chop up what needs to be chopped (I didn’t chop the chicken!), put it in the pot, turn the pot on low and let it sit.  After 6 or 8 hours the chicken will be cooked perfectly (mine fell apart into nice shreds of yummy chicken…yay!)  We ate our chicken “stew” with corn bread muffins made by the lovely Kathleen 🙂

Flash forward to tonight…I’m standing in front of the fridge trying to decide what to make for dinner…I decide against eating the leftover salsa chicken since I just had it last night.

Then I talk myself into just trying one bite…you know, for like an appetizer?

Well, that plan failed because after one bite I couldn’t stop eating it!

016

So I settled for a second night of salsa chicken (poor me) along with a microwaved sweet potato and a big handful of spinach.  It was so yummy!!

After dinner, my sweet tooth was calling to me (suprise) so I whipped up a batch of the easiest no bake cookies I’ve ever met.

003

To make these treats, you mix together the following ingredients, allow them to chill in the fridge for 30 minutes, and then roll them into balls!

You’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup of rice crispies
  • 1/2 cup of Total wheat flakes
  • 1/2 cup of oats
  • 3/4 cup of Peanut Butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • sprinkle of salt
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup of dark chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup of special trail mix from my Grandma Carol (but any mix of nuts and berries will do!)

005

My Grandma gave me this bag of delicious trail mix full of cranberries, pumpkin seeds, and chocolate after Thanksgiving, and I think these no bake balls are the perfect use for it.

002

These healthy no bake balls are simply fabulous.  I got the idea for my creation from this recipe: http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/no-bake-energy-bites/ but I changed it by using lighter cereals instead of oats so they were less dense.  I liked the less dense version because they tasted more like a dessert and less like a second meal!

After dinner, I had a bible study with my wonderful and wise sorority sister Kathleen.

We’ve had bible studies on Monday nights every night of this school year…

…but we’ve only opened the bible about 4 times.

The majority of our time is spent talking about our Faith and anything and everything that is on our hearts.  I don’t know why, but whenever we set aside a time to talk about our struggles, our insights, our questions and our faith, the conversation flows like crazy and we can talk for hours.

I am truly blessed to have Kathleen in my life because I can talk to her about anything.

She makes my days so much brighter 🙂 Plus we both share a love for anything involving oats and peanut butter so that is convenient.

I hope everyone had a lovely Monday 🙂  Thanks for reading and remember, feel free to email me with questions about these crazy recipes of mine!

Leave a Reply

