I Love Oats

Happy Saturday!

I am so glad it is the weekend!  I loved my week spent in the kindergarten classroom, and I am looking forward to a few relaxing days full of sleeping in and having more time to enjoy the morning.

Next week will be my last week with the kids and, man, I am gonna be missing their sweet faces.

I’ll especially miss the boy who filled yesterday with endless rounds of “We Wish You A Merry Fart” while we colored snowmen.  Haha but really he is one of my favorites 🙂

I’m still not completely sure if kindergarten is the grade I want to teach, but I do love this grade.  Sometimes I think it’s because kindergarteners and I have a lot in common.

I love crafts and coloring.

I’m easily distracted.

I get pretty excited about the simple joys of life.

Like oats.

It’s true; I am smitten.  But it wasn’t always this way.

I can still remember the morning , years ago, when my mom gave me a bowl of oatmeal and I refused to eat it.  I did, eventually, clean my bowl thanks to a little teamwork with my dog Teddy.  I scooped up small portions of that icky oatmeal in my hand and then he happily licked it from my palm under the counter.  Genius.

Then I discovered overnight oats and I was a goner.

The texture of plain, cooked oatmeal has always reminded me of (sorry) snot.  Ew.

But the technique of soaking oats in yogurt or milk overnight to soften them and then making them delicious by adding fresh fruit, jams, nuts or even chocolate chips makes me much more excited to eat a bowl of oatmeal.

Nowadays, I have oatmeal for breakfast 90% of my days.! I love oats because they are packed full of fiber and protein.  I also love them because they leave a lot of room for creativity in the kitchen since they are so stinking’ bland.

Here are some of my new favorite concoctions that I made this week 🙂

Dairy Free Cinnamon Apple Overnight Oats with Peanut Butter

For this bowl of goodness, I let 1/2 cup of oats soak in 1/2 cup of water with cinnamon, salt, and honey overnight.  When the sun came up, I added a chopped apple, more cinnamon, a healthy spoonful of peanut butter and a drizzle of honey.

Presto!

012

This was the perfect post yoga meal and I loved how soaking the oats in water let the flavors of PB, cinnamon and apple really shine.

011

These oats were fabulous but a Saturday breakfast called for a little more creativity and a little more chocolate.

Hot Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal

For this oat bowl, I really went out on a limb and tried something completely new!  I soaked 1/2 cup of oats in 1/2 cup of water with cinnamon and 1 scoop of chocolate whey protein powder. 

Then this morning I added more cinnamon, a scoop of peanut butter and a sprinkle of dark chocolate chips.  I even popped the bowl in the microwave so they were warm, creamy and uh YUM!

014

Who says you can’t eat a little chocolate for breakfast?!  It is, after all, Saturday 🙂

Okay, so I do have another oat recipe that I am itching to share, but I don’t want to overwhelm you.

So let these new ideas of not boring and delicious oats sink in a little bit and take some time to prepare yourself for the next post about no bake peanut butter chocolate oat balls.

Yep, oat balls.  It’s happening.

002

Now that my chocolate oats are nice and digested, I’m off to start my day with a workout at the campus gym, grocery shopping and then watching the Broncos game!  Have a happy Saturday y’all 🙂

Leave a Reply

