Kindy Garten Day 1

Today, I want to talk about 2 things: Kindergarten and the best dinner ever.

Let’s start with kindergarten 🙂

For my winter session class, I go to a kindergarten classroom every day for the next 2 weeks.  Basically, it’s like Pre-Student teaching.  I observe, interact with the kids and help the teacher however she needs me.  I’ve even heard rumors that one day I might get to read to book at story time…eek!!

My first day in the classroom provided me with many new insights.

I realized how the basic concepts taught by a kindergarten teacher turn into valuable skills that last forever.

For example, while I helped the kids practice writing their C’s I realized that I wouldn’t know how to write unless my teachers had taught me.

When I observed the kids interact with each other, I got to witness little moments of pure kindness and excitement that are unique to this age group.

The way they instantly accept everyone blows me away.  For example, I watched an emotionally disturbed student come visit the class today, and I was worried that he would be shunned or ignored by the other students since he was different.

Nope.

The kindergarteners treated the student like a celebrity!  They welcomed the child with encouraging smiles and open arms.  This reaction was so different from how older students usually react to peers who are dysfunctional.  They didn’t shun the kid for being different and they didn’t treat the kid especially nice because he was different…they just treated him with the same extreme and instant kindness that they showed everyone else who visits the classroom.

I think we can learn as much from kindergartener as they learn from us!

I am very excited to get to know these little people better.

Now….about that dinner…

open faced bruschetta sandwhiches

009

Best choice ever.

This dinner was so simple and so good!  Here’s the game plan:

You will need:

  • 1 loaf of good bread such as sour dough or french bread.  (we used a kalamata olive bread and it honestly made the meal!)
  • olive oil
  • garlic powder or 1 garlic clove chopped
  • mozzarella cheese
  • deli sliced turkey breast (optional!)
  • bruschetta

Actions to take:

  • Slice bread into 4 one inch thick slices
  • drizzle a little olive oil on each slice and top with a sprinkle of chopped garlic or garlic powder
  • Toast bread in an oven or toaster oven until light, golden brown
  • Remove bread and top with cheese and a slice of turkey if using.  Return toasts to oven until the cheese is nice and melty
  • Remove toasts again and top with generous spoonfuls of bruschetta
  • Dig the heck in!

010

Halle and I really really really loved this dinner!  We couldn’t stop talking about how delicious it was.  It was slightly out of control.

We also watched an episode of The Office while we ate and I think this definitely contributed to the greatness of the meal!

Our favorite part was the episode opener that showed Dwight pretending to give birth to a baby (a watermelon served as the substitute) so Michael could practice and prepare for when Jan was in labor.

PHOTO SOURCE: http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/The-Office-Season-Five-Blu-ray/5696/

(after dropping the new born melon) Michael: “God, Dwight!  What did you put on that??”

Dwight: “Uh, butter.  New borns are very slippery.”

 

Goodness, I love them.  Goodnight everybody 🙂  Try those bruschetta toasts soon, you will not regret it!!

 

2 thoughts on “Kindy Garten Day 1

  1. hey girl! I’m new to the blogosphere too. Can’t wait to read more from you! I’m a fellow clean eater and fitness fan over at SoFitandSoGreen.blogspot.com Alsoo I used to teach preschool and always had the funniest stories and quotes at the end of the day to tell my friends and family. I’m sure you will have some great ones too!

    1. Ah! Hi! So guess what, you are the first fellow blogger to ever comment on my blog! I literally screeched when I saw this in my email this morning haha. I’m so glad you found me and I can’t wait to read your blog!! Haha yes the little ones have sooo much to say…I’m headed there after I finish my morning oatmeal 🙂 Thanks for commenting and reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

