2013=Muffins and Shaved Legs

Well, hello there and Happy New Year to you!
How did you spend your New Years Eve?  Did you spend it watching Arrested Development, playing Catch Phrase and eating an abundance of ice cream with your best friends? Oh goodness, me too!
My first morning of 2013 was full of new adventures….
First, I found out via Facebook that I left my gum on my friend Rachel’s coffee table last night. And, yes, it was chewed gum. I am thoroughly ashamed…and really wondering how I managed that one.
At the gym, I tried leg strengthening exercises called dead lifts in Julie‘s winter circuit workout. I fell over many times.
Next, I tried carrot juice.  Well, okay, confession: I’ve always loved carrot juice.  Back in the glory days of my Freshman year of college, when I ate at the cafeteria and could get smoothies from the smoothie shop at the gym, I would always get the 24 Karrot Smoothie.  Frozen Bananas, Vanilla yogurt and fresh carrot juice.  Delicious.
But I have never tried carrot juice at home.  So today when I found some in my fridge I knew I had to use it.  At first, Lizzie and I were skeptical of this new beverage.
But, after blending it with up with an orange, raspberries and ice we decided it wasn’t so scary after all.
Mmmmmm blended carrots 😉
And then!  Then I made some muffins.  Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins to be exact.
Holy cow I love muffins.  Last summer I would bake batches upon batches of muffins with oats, bananas, peanut butter, blueberries and more.  After they cooled, I would wrap the freshly baked muffs up in plastic wrap and freeze them.  Almost every morning after running in the sun, I would race to the freezer, take out a frozen muffin, reheat it in the microwave and be the happiest girl ever.  That’s livin, folks.
For these muffins, I followed (and actually really kind of followed!) a recipe from the blog called Skinny Taste and I really liked them!
Gina’s recipe asked you to soak the oats in almond milk for 30 minutes and blend the mixture up…but ain’t nobody got time for that…so I just threw everything together and they turned out fine!  Thank you Gina for feeding my muffin addiction 🙂
Insanely Good Blueberry Oatmeal MuffinsSkinnytaste.com
Servings: 12 • Serving Size: 1 muffin • Old Points: 2 pts • Points+: 4 pts
Calories: 127 • Fat: 2.3 g • Protein: 2.8 g • Carb: 28.4 g • Fiber: 2.2 g • Sugar: 17.3 g
Sodium: 222.7 mgIngredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups Quaker quick oatmeal
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk (or skim milk)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 tbsp agave (or sugar, honey)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
  • baking spray
Directions:
Preheat oven to 400°. Line a muffin tin with liners and lightly spray with oil.
Place oats in a food processor or chopper and pulse a few times. Soak oats in milk for about 30 minutes (if you have time).  Combine all following ingredients, do not over mix, and divide batter equally among muffin tins and bake for 20 to 22 minutes.  You will know the muffins are done when they are golden brown on the top, the edges pull away from the muffin tin and a tooth pick comes out clean when poked in the middle. 🙂
And the last of my new adventures for today is freshly shaved legs.  I honestly can’t remember the last time I had a pair of those….but it’s a nice feeling.  I’m such a slacker when it comes to shaving in the winter!
Well, its cold and snowy outside so it makes for a perfect day to start packing to return to the homeland (Missoula!) and to clean out my closet…I’m starting to worry I buried my cat under all the unfolded clothes…
Leave a Reply

