Brunch with my Bestie

Good. Morning. 

Smoothies, home made muffins and Modern Family….could it get any better?

Yes!  Insert my best friend Anna into the equation, and it is perfection.

As you can see, we were a wild pair of middle school ladies, me and Anna. Over the years, I accumulated a multitude of nicknames for my buddy; Muscle Muade, Lena, Horace, Hovey Hov, Mi cuaderno (my notebook in Spanish)….she loves them all 😉  Let’s learn a little more about the girl behind that flashy sequined headband.

I met Anna in elementary school.  She was the new kid, and I can still remember driving home from school with my mom when we spotted her walking home.

My mom asked me who she was.  “Oh, she was new?  Maybe you should have her over for a play date, that would be nice!”  Ah, I didn’t like the sound of that.  I had friends.  I didn’t need anymore.  Jeeze I was in, like, second grade.  For pete’s sake mom, I had stuff to do.

Flash forward 10 years and here we are, just a couple of best pals at our senior prom.  I guess that play date wasn’t such a bad idea after all 😉

When we were young, I would give Anna make overs that involved layers upon layers of lip sticks, glosses, putty’s and glitters.  I insisted that only I knew how to properly use the eyelash curler…it’s likely that Anna left my house with less eyelashes then she came over with on multiple occasions.  Sometimes I played pranks on Anna…yes, sometimes I made her Popsicles out of beet juice and insisted they were grape…hehe. 

Since Anna has such a big heart, she put up with my little pranks.  Thank goodness for that too because my life has been filled with so much more joy, laughter, heart to heart talks in our cars, and late night chick flicks because of it!

With Anna, it doesn’t matter how long I’ve been in Missoula and she’s been in Billings.  No matter what, we pick up right where we left off…best buddies for life 🙂

Yep, we’ve always been a little bit different.  So when our plans to hang out today were foiled by Anna’s work schedule, we decided to have ourselves a little brunch!

Our first course was a big fruit/spinach smoothie 🙂

 

I’m sure glad I took a picture before I blended this all up because it turned into a brown, muddy mess!  But that’s okay for the best friend, they don’t judge…too much.  Next, we baked ourselves some warm and healthy muffins…mmmmmmm my favorite breakfast treat 🙂
Banana Nut Muffins

*recipe adapted from Oatmeal Banana Flax Muffins

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp (don’t skimp!) Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons wheat germ
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 sliced banana
  • a handful of chopped pecans and walnuts

For the muffins, mix the first three ingredients with a whisk.  Next add the dry ingredients and mix well.  Finally, stir in the banana and nuts!  Pop em’ in the oven at 350 degrees for somewhere between 15 and 18 minutes.  Brunch time!  I loved how these muffins were full of nuts and banana chunks!

We watched a good amount of Modern Family while we ate and it was a splendid time!  I was so happy to be able to spend some quality time with my good pal 🙂 

Leave a Reply

