Cookies are the Best Medicine

Hello!!!!!!!!

How is everyone?!  6 days until Christmas!  Hurray!!

Today was full of less coughing and more baking….Thank God.  I’ve got two, that’s right two, hot cookie recipes coming your way!!

This morning I rolled out of bed and drove my little bro (a senior in high school…eek!!) to school and then stopped by the gym for a workout.   I didn’t want to push it too hard since I’m still sick, so I did 50 minute hill workout on the elliptical and I felt great afterwards!  The 50 minutes flew by because the whole time I was brainstorming what kind of cookies I wanted to bake this afternoon/ lip sinking Shake Senora by Pitbull.  Now that is multitasking.

After a quick leisurely shower, I made some lunch!  For the first time since I’ve been sick, I was really hungry!  I wanted to eat some greens…but wasn’t really feeling a salad…so why not blend up your salad with some chocolate soy milk, bananas, and ice?  Yes please 🙂

On the side of my smoothie, I had this cute little snack plate. Yum!

Then, obviously, I needed to test the mint and dark chocolate baking chips that I was taking to my Grandma’s. I found that they were acceptable….;) aka fabulous.  Lizzie was begging for a little chocolate, but all she got was a few spare raspberries…She leads a rough life.

 
Finally, I gathered up the necessary ingredients and headed out for some serious cookie baking!! I was pumped.  Ain’t no sickness gonna hold me back from a baking date with Grandma.
Cookie #1: Dark Chocolate Mint Oatmeal Cookies
Okay.  I loved these cookies!! They combined everything I have ever loved: oats, dark chocolate and mint.  Really they are perfection, all they are missing is my celebrity crush, Daniel Radcliffe.  If anyone has his contact info and can convince him to roll around in this cookie dough…okay, no, I’m stopping.

 
The dough was thick and extra chocolaty thanks to the dark chocolate cocoa powder we used!
 
 
The cookies came out chewy and soft.  Naturally, we tested one straight out of the oven when the chocolate and mint chips were gooey and warm…that is the optimal cookie testing time!
 
Now it’s not fair for me to tempt you with all these pictures and descriptions unless I enable you to recreate these.  Here’s the recipe:
 
Dark Chocolate Mint Oatmeal Cookies
  • 2 tablespoons dark chocolate cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2teaspoon salt
  • 1/2cup brown sugar
  • 1/2cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 6 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
 
Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Blend up your wet ingredients!  Add your dry ingredients.  Sample the dough…sample more dough.  Spoon remaining dough onto a cookie sheet and bake for 10 to 12 minutes :)
 
Cookie #2: White Chip, Apricot, Walnut Brown Sugar Cookies
 
Okay so these cookies were really good too!  In my opinion,  not as good as the first cookie (since they didn’t have dark chocolate, they didn’t really stand a chance) but they are definitely still worth your time.  They are more crispy than chewy and the dough is wonderful because you just can’t beat a butter and brown sugar based cookie dough. Sorry oats, you just can’t.
 
 
I customized this recipe by adding chopped apricots, white chocolate chips and walnuts.
 
 
 Be careful not to put these cookies too close together on the baking sheet!  They really spread out…Grandma Carol and I just had to squeeze one last cookie on the final sheet and ended up with a Mickey Mouse shaped blob….rookie mistake.
 
Oh and, suprise, they are packed full of wheat germ!  So put down your apple, you can get your dose of fiber from a cookie now 🙂
 
White Chip, Apricot, Walnut Brown Sugar Cookies
 
  • 10 tbsp. butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c. brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 c. wheat germ
  • 1 c. flour (we used whole wheat!)
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried apricots
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (cashews are almonds would be great too!)
  • Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Blend up your wet ingredients! Add your dry ingredients. Sample the dough…sample more dough. Spoon remaining dough onto a cookie sheet and bake for 8 to 10 minutes 🙂
     
    I had so much fun hanging out with my Grandma and Grandpa today.  As I was walking up to my Grandma’s door today, I realized there was nothing I would rather be doing than spending my afternoon in her cozy house baking, sampling cookies and chatting with the food channel playing in the background.  And that’s exactly what we did.  And Grandpa might have fallen asleep while reading the paper…shhhhh 🙂 

    So if you ever think I’m a decent cook or baker, just remember, I learned from the best.

     
     
     
    Leave a Reply

    