Burpees and Headstand Circuit Workout!

Hey guys Heyyyyyyyy!
 
I couldn’t tell you how many times I’ve greeted my best friends Halle and Lauren with an over exaggerated, “Hey girl Heyyyyyy!” this year.  I honestly don’t even know how that got started.
Anyways, Today is going great!
 
Should we start with workout or lunch?  Workout. Save the best for last duh 😉
 
 
Walked into the gym in my boots today because it was soooo snowy!
 
I have wanted to try a circuit workout from the new blog I stalk daily, Peanut Butter Fingers, and I finally did it today!  Here’s what went down:
 
  • 20 minute elliptical warm up
  • The Circuit!
    • 50 Jumping Jacks
    • 20 squats (she used weights but I’m kind of a wimp so I didn’t)
    • 20 squat jumps
    • 20 alternating lunges
    • 15 burpees
    • 25 pushups (I did mine on my knees and I did em proud!)
    • 50 crunches
    • 30 mountain climbers
      • repeat 3 times! (that’s what I did, but you don’t have to!  Just one round of this would be good!)
I listened to the Dance Cardio station on Pandora and I loved it!

Yay!  That little list of exercises looks so cute and short, doesn’t it?  Fact: 3 sets left me feeling like my morning oatmeal might possibly be coming back up…especially after those darn burpees!  But afterwards, and still 2 hours later, I felt great!!  Click here: http://www.pbfingers.com/work-it-out/workouts/ for more circuit workouts from Julie!

 
It’s kinda weird how during some workouts (cross country races! and burpees) you are cursing everything exercise related and really wondering why you didn’t stay in bed, but when you finish, you’re like hey, lets do that again!!
 
After the elliptical, sets of the circuit, and some stretching I was ready to head home…but I came with Halle and she was still going strong…I didn’t want to be that kid at the gym who was like, “uhm, so… can we leave??”  So I ran a few laps and did 2 headstands on the track. 
 
It took me a whole semester of yoga class but I finally mastered the headstand.  And now I am pretty positive I never want to live a day without doing one 🙂  I have no idea why but there is something so fun about that moment when I finally get the courage to swing my legs up and over the rest of my body…it’s a small victory every time because I am a big scardey cat when it comes to going upside down!
 
Lunch!
 
 
Today I warmed up leftover jambalya with and put it over spinach with olives, tomatoes and a side of hummus!
 
 
It was seriously soooo good.
 
A big improvement from the cold, salsa mashed potato mixture I made yesterday haha 🙂
 
Happy Happy Saturday!!  Go play in the snow for me, I’ll  be inside studying!!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

