Sugar High Hangover

Today I woke up feeling a little out of it, and I am pretty sure I can pinpoint the 2 causes of my grogginess.
1. There were large amounts of chocolate, marshmallows, candy canes and more chocolate! consumed last night.
2.  I slept in my new pair of cupcake, footie pajamas.  Man, those babies are cute and cozy, but they do too good of a job of sealing in the heat!  Sleeping in footie PJ’s is a guaranteed way to wake up sweaty and dehydrated lol.
Check it!  All for the mere price of $12.99 at your local Target
 
We wore our sexy PJ’s to Halle’s aunts house for the 2nd annual cookie making, Elf watching, treat consuming Christmas Party.
 
I ate a lot of these:  Dark Chocolate, dried cherry, peanut clusters.  Shut the front door.
 
 
And we decorated giant gingerbread men!  Here was my masterpiece.  It just didn’t sit right with me to leave much empty space on the cookie when there were so many fun toppings to put on it…go big or go home!
 
 
After the cookies, we watched Elf…a true Christmas classic.  My favorite part is when he gets hit with the taxi cab…it comes out of no where and shocks me every time!
 
 
It was a wonderfully cozy night and it really got me in the Christmas spirit!
 
But I cannot deny that I woke up this morning feeling a little “hungover” from the many, many handfuls of red and green mint chocolate (aka impossible to refuse) M&Ms that found their way to my mouth last night.
 
Luckily, I know the cure to any hangover:
Green tea, a tall glass of green smoothie, and a run!
 
After a glass of ice water and green tea, I laced up my shoes for a 3.5 mile run.  It felt amazing to be out in the cool, fresh air even though it is so dreary and rainy in Missoula today.
 
After my run, I got out the last bit (so sad!) of the Kale and the blender.
 
 
Attention:  I have had a Kale smoothie for breakfast 4 days in a row and there is no end in sight!  These green smoothies give you so much energy and they taste really yummy too.  If the idea of Kale in a smoothie freaks you out, it’s all good because I have a wonderful salad recipe you can check out by clicking here, I got your back 😉
 
For my smoothie, I blended up: 1 ripe banana, 5 orange slices, 2 handfuls of kale, soy milk and ice.
 
Then I took a hot shower and started on my physics homework!
 
After I finished my homework, I started writing this post and that is when Shelbi, my big sister in the sorority, wandered into the living room.
 
Poor Shelbi was in the same state as I was this morning.  She ate the awesome chocolate chip skillet cookie at James Bar the night before…which sounds like a grand idea, but the problem is that Shelbi is gluten intolerant.  So that cookie made for one heck of a rough morning.
 
I told her to drink a lot of water…but I knew what was 10 million times better than water…
 
It took a little lot of convincing, but, eventually, she agreed to let me make her a green smoothie!  (under her supervision…she was worried I’d throw in a cucumber lol)
 
For Shelbi, I blended up: 1 ripe banana, orange slices, strawberries, 2 huge handfuls of spinach, soy milk, ice and honey!
 
I had to add a little extra sweetness with the honey because the pressure was on.  By this time, the boyfriend of our sorority president, Caleb, had joined us in the kitchen too so I had a big crowd to please.
 
The result?
 
They LOVED it!
 
 
“I am truely amazed that I can’t even taste the spinach…and my tummy ache is gone!”  ~the true words of Shelbi
 
 
Caleb, who was pretty grossed out by all of this green smoothie business before testing, got really excited.  So excited that he made another green smoothie with…get ready…
  • 4 bananas
  • 1 kiwi
  • 1 apple
  • lots of grapes
  • even more strawberries
  • spinach
  • milk
  • honey
  • ice
 
It was sweeter than mine and really good 🙂  He thought long and hard about what he wanted to say to you all about the smoothies…this is what he came up with:
“It is the healthiest, most delicious treat I have every had in my life.”
 
Well, there ya go folks.  If that doesn’t convince you to drink one of these amazing smoothies, I don’t know what will!  It was a blast to have people test taste my healthy creations that seem a little shifty at first glance…I will definitely be doing this again!
 
Plus Caleb gave me a lot of tips about how to make my blog better…YAY!  The first step is to switch to Word Press instead of google blogger…so be prepared for a change soon!
 
I am sure you are getting out your blenders too right now, and I have a small favor to ask of you.
 
While you are drinking your fruits and veggies, visit this link: z100.com/l/ddo
If you visit that link, you automatically vote for my friend Sam to win the chance to meet One Direction (a cute, catchy, very cute, British band)
 
She is a very sweet girl and it would mean the world to her if you helped her out.  A little bird/facebook told me that she is in the top 5th percentile for people in the lead, so help a sister out and click on the link! 
 
Thanks for reading guys, love you all!  Hope everyone has a great Saturday 🙂 
One thought on “Sugar High Hangover

Leave a Reply

