Recovery Workout and Dessert for Dinner

Hi everybody 🙂 How was your Wednesday today?
 
Mine was pretty decent 🙂
 
I took it easy for my workout today…yesterday after yoga I was biking to my next class with the vigor of a dying snail…my muscles felt so tired.  So today I decided to have a ‘rest day workout day’.
 
 I fit this little sweat session in between 11 and noon today.  I highly recommend it as a workout between classes…that is if you don’t mind arriving to your next class sweaty. Just remember: 
 
Pinned Image 
 
And maybe y’all won’t sweat as much as I did, who knows!  Here’s the plan:
 
10 min elliptical
2 mile run
10 min elliptical
 
And that’s all!  You could easily make this less of a recovery workout by adding some strength training 🙂
 
Lunch was pretty boring so let’s skip to dinner!
 
Halle and I split a smoothie
 
 
Our mix consisted of spinach, kale, 1 banana, a handful of strawberries, soy milk and flax seed!  The flax seed was Hal gal’s idea…it was a really nice touch and apparently a super food…load me up!
 
 
Mmmm.  Then for dessert….we had a little chocolate protein oatmeal 🙂
 
 
This had 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup plain yogurt, a scoop of chocolate protein powder, a scoop of natural PB and then a lot of sliced bananas, Kashi cereal, chocolate chips and a little honey 🙂 Yum.
 
All this was consumed while watching The Lucky One…so it tasted 10 times better of course!  After dinner we went to a really cool church service where we sang the Holden Evening Prayer.  Has anyone ever heard of that?? I know I hadn’t but it was beautiful!
 
Now I’m home, in my comfy clothes with a cup of green tea (which I’m hoping doesn’t have caffeine but I have a strong suspicion I’m wrong…dang nab!) and about to do some Physics homework…whoop whoop!
 
Flashback a bit…today while I was on the elliptical listening to Check It Out and Hips Don’t Lie, I had some deep thoughts about the future (obviously)….I came to terms with the fact that I don’t know if I’ll be a teacher when I graduate…but I know I want to.  I also want to be a Zumba instructor.  And a wife and a really good mom.  And I love blogging, so heck yes I would write recipes for a job. 
 
 Today I found peace with the fact that I have multiple dreams and desires for my life.  I don’t know what I’ll be or where my life is going after college…and that’s ok!  I’m learning that it is one mile stone to believe and be content with the idea that God has a plan for my life…next comes the step of trusting that his plan is the one I want to follow.  I’ll figure it out as I stay in touch with Him, my heart and my dreams.  “All I know is, I’m enjoying today.” (quote from K’naan that randomly popped in my head haha)
 
In other news, I continue to be shamelessly addicted to reading the wonderful blog known as Peanut Butter Fingers.  While eating lunch at the gym I came across a really great post of Julies that talks about finding success and contentment with where you are now.  It was a great follow up to my elliptical revelations…and I’m sure you all would love it too!
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

