A Workout for the Spaziest

Hey everyone!  Welcome back to reality, eh?  That Monday alarm sure was loud and obnoxious after Thanksgiving break.
 
So this morning I planned to go to an early morning cycling class…then my bike lock was frozen shut…obviously I had no choice but to stay home and have a relaxing morning with a bowl of Cinnamon applesauce oatmeal 🙂
 
When I did make it to the gym for a daily dose of exerciese, I had no idea what I wanted to do , so I did a little bit of everything.  If you ever have one of those days when you just can’t commit to a workout, I recommend this one:
 
Spazzy Monday Workout
  • 10 minutes on the elliptical
  • 10 minutes on the spin bike or stationary bike
  • 10 minutes on the stair stepper
  • 1 mile run
  • an ab and arm workout of your choice
  • call it a day!
For the 10 minute chunks on the machines, I did 2 minute intervals of medium resistance and hard resistance..this helps the work out fly by even faster 🙂 If by the time you get to the run, it feels way better than the resistance training, you know you pushed yourself good! I really liked switching it up with this workout today!  It is impossible to get bored when you’re constantly switching machines.
 
After a quick shower, I had grabbed my packed lunch and headed to history class!
 
 
I ate my wrap on the way to class…it was pretty chilly outside so it was a little painful on the teeth, but I powered through the pain.  This wrap was: hummus, feta, kale, chopped orange pepper and sun dried tomato all wrapped up in a whole wheat tortilla!  I highly recommend eating that soon.
 
 
I also packed a peach Chobani yogurt, a mini green apple and a lot of little tomatoes!
 
The rest of the day was filled with Christmas decorating at Halle’s house and Monday bible study (aka talking about everything from white chicken chili to the story of Mary) with Kathleen.  I look forward to our time together on Monday so much!  Of course we see each other often since we live together, but we’re always on the run…it’s on Mondays when we have the best conversations because we can relax and be completely present in that hour of time solely dedicated to sharing our stories, struggles and good news…my friendship with Kathleen is a blessing for sure! 
 
And then a hot cocoa bar with the whole sorority! 
 
The hot cocoa was so good!  But also so bad…because just last night Halle and I decided to try and cut back on the white, refined sugar in our diet…
 
I have a feeling the 34 mini marshmallows in my mug were not organic…
 
Oh well 🙂 While I think it is important to fuel your body with nutritious foods, I also believe in indulging on special occasions…FACT: it is not every night there is mass amounts of whipped cream available!
 
In other  news, I have fallen hard for another blog by the name of Peanut Butter Fingers.  Julie is the author of this little gem, and she writes about everything from killer treadmill workouts (click here for a guaranteed sore butt!)
To eggnog (girl say what?!) yes, eggnog overnight oatmeal (click here!)
 
eggnog oatmeal 010
 
and grasshopper cupcakes (you know you wanna see it!)
 
 
So seriously, if you enjoy my blog, I know you’ll love hers too!  Check it out 🙂 I know I do whenever I get bored in history class…uh, mom, if you’re reading this just ignore that last comment.   
 
 
 
 
 
One thought on “A Workout for the Spaziest

  1. Haha, your secret's out cupcake, you know I read each and every post! I'll pass along to Dad that you were most likely researching why and when the word "grasshopper" became linked with yummy treats…I've always wondered that myself so please do share the answer. I'm trying the eggnog oatmeal thing too, even Conner would like that one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

