Shake It!

Hi there 🙂

In case y’all didn’t know, I made a Facebook page for Kenzy’s Kitchen.  I hope that I can post links on this page, but it isn’t doing as good of a job as spreading the word as posting links as my status….I figure it will take some time to make the transition, so if you haven’t liked the page yet and you want to read this crazy stuff, I’d love it if you did!

How was everyone’s Thanksgiving??  I hope y’all had a great one.  My bestie, Halle, told me to “Eat until the button of my pants popped off.”  I did my best Hal but, unfortunately, I wore tights haha.

After my brother and I ran (stiffly hobbled through) a very windy Thanksgiving 5k, we had our holiday feast at my Gramma Carols and it was a blast!!

My favorite treat of the day was surely this:  Pumpkin Ice Cream Pie

Is Gramma Carol the bomb or what?  I have never been a fan of pie crust (sorry! I know I am offending many with that statement) but I do love a good cookie or Graham crust.  And ice cream is hands down my favorite dessert.  So this pie was a dream come true!

Of course, I had to get all fancy and drizzle my slice with chocolate and a sprinkle of pomegranate seeds 🙂 If there is a pumpkin pie hater in your family, you might wanna try out this treat next year!  I found a recipe that is similar to what my grandma made at this link 🙂 except this one has caramel sauce…get on that.

Friday was kinda like running a marathon….9 hours of shopping…goodness gracious let’s move on.

And now it is Saturday!  I was super excited for today because Saturday=Zumba!!

But oats come first!  Today I had: 1/2 a cup of oats, 3/4 a cup of my dad’s home made apple sauce, Cinnamon, chopped apple and some pistachios!!  I haven’t had pistachios in forever but I sure love them 🙂

Zumba was so fun!  My favorite way to workout is to shake it.  Any time, any place, I am always down for a little dancing.  And it is kinda my dream to be a Zumba instructor one day…and if that ever happens friends, it is officially possible for anyone to be a Zumba instructor because I have about as much coordination as an intoxicated goose.  Seriously.

After Zumba, some weights, and a hot shower, I made some spicy turkey pasta!

Mmmmhmmm.

While I boiled some whole wheat spaghetti, I chopped up tomatoes, mushrooms, and white turkey.  Then I sauteed the mushrooms with a little olive oil, salt, pepper, Italian seasoning and some tomato sauce. 

 Next, I added the tomatoes, turkey and cooked pasta.  After the mixture had cooked for a bit, I added the secret ingredient: Spicy Hummus

Yeah, I went there, hummus in my pasta.  Whatcha gonna do about it?!

The hummus adds a good flavor and a nice creamy texture!  Yum!  I finished off my bowl with some hot sauce, Parmesan cheese and some parsley.  Oh yeah 🙂

I also had some leftover apple, feta, walnut salad!  And for dessert, more home made apple sauce and leftover cranberry relish.  This Saturday has been so wonderful!

Now I am gonna get caught up on some homework.  And then I am making brownies with avocados, pumpkin and chocolate protein powder…it’s happening…and I’d be lying if I told you I wasn’t a little scared…

But just a little!  Chocolate can make anything taste good 🙂 Happy Saturday everybody, and thank you for reading my blog…you guys are my inspiration to keep at this!!

Leave a Reply

