Hakuna Matata

It means no worries, for the rest of your days!!!

Next Monday I have a musical listening lesson plan due…naturally I chose Hakuna Matata for my song. 

Partially for the kids…partially so I had an excuse to put it on my i-pod!  And yes, I did listen to it while I worked out this morning πŸ™‚

Today was sooooo great because my music class was cancelled!  Don’t get me wrong, I love my music class, but I was not going to complain about an extra hour for my weekday morning.  If you’ve been reading my posts about every day life, you’ve probably picked up on the fact that breaking a sweat is my favorite way to start the day.

And as much as I like biking to the gym like I’m in a race and eating my breakfast in 4 minutes flat, I was so happy to be able to get ready for my day without the usual chaotic rush.

I read my book for history while I peddled away on the elliptical for 40 minutes with the resistance cranked up…I would so rather listen to music, but I have to admit that reading really makes the 40 minutes fly by!  Then I did a few yoga poses, some abs and push ups.

When I got home I ate my new favorite oat bowl combination:

 
MMM!  The recipe is…..drumroll please….1/2 cup oats! 1/3 cup plain Greek yogurt! A splash of milk! A dash of Cinnamon! 1 chopped mini green apple! A sprinkle of dried cranberries and Kashi lean cereal or anything crunchy! AND a spoonful of creamy peanut butter.
 
I was a woman gone wild.  I just kept adding and adding and oh man.  It is the perfect morning bowl!  The apples are tart, the cranberries are sweet and the peanut butter is just plain delicious.  Plus it is packed with protein from the yogurt and the PB and also fiber from the apples and oats…YaY!
 
Then I hustled across campus to history class.  It is definitely fall in Missoula!
 
 
So I might have been a few minutes late for class.  I just couldn’t help but take my time and enjoy the beautiful scenery I get to walk through every morning!
 
 

It just doesn’t get prettier than Fall in Missoula friends πŸ™‚  All you need is some pumpkin bread and tea and you are set.

For my mid morning snack I had this!

 
Another mini green apple, pea pods and a cheese stick πŸ™‚  Apples are such a great snack but I am always that kid in the quiet study lounge just crunching away…it’s a good thing I eat fast.
After an hour and a half of studying I headed home for lunch…
 
 
I made my favorite veggie sandwich but with a twist: Greek Yogurt.
 
You put yogurt on a sandwich?  Yep…guilty as charged.
 
I know, I know…it sounds crazy!  Jeeze that’s like using chocolate syrup as your salad dressing…but allow me to explain.  I figured that plain yogurt could serve the same purpose as mayo…the creamy yogurt moistens the sandwich just like the mayo right?! 
 
So I spread one slice with yogurt and then sprinkled feta over the top (oh, now you want to try it right?).  Then I spread the other slice with hummus, and next I loaded on some leftover, steamed carrots, tomato, cucumber, spinach, sprouts and hot sauce πŸ™‚
 
It was soo good!!!!!
 
And now I’m sitting here in the UC waiting for my last class of the day.  And I’m a little bummed…Halle and I were supposed to get some chocolate chip pumpkin bread but she made an appointment for science help….the nerve.
 
Should I just buy the bread and we can quietly stuff our faces in the next class?  It is looking like a mighty tempting option.
 
As for after this next class…I may be going camping πŸ™‚  and I am definitely packing every blanket I have ever owned lol.  Devin and Jared are in charge of driving and Shelbi and I are in charge of food…we are thinking tacos πŸ™‚ but shh it’s a suprise!
 
I’ll take plenty of pictures and tell you how the PB and J’s tacos turn out tonight!  See you later! 
 
 

 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

