Risk It To Get the Biscuit

So I don’t know what’s gotten into me lately…but apparently I am so over recipe’s.
 
Shortly after getting an invite to a chili and corn bread dinner at the Wilson’s family cabin I decided it was essential to bring some cookies.
 
When 5 o’clock rolled around, I remembered that I had set aside some extra ripe bananas.    I only had 30 minutes to throw together something edible…but I have never been one to not test the limits of time…it is indeed true that I leave the house at 8:05 for class at 8:10…I may show up out of breath but I get it done!
 
Anyways, I got to mashing up those bananas, and eventually I had a mixture that I taste tested the heck out of because it was just that delicious.
 
Here’s the uh “recipe”:
 
20 Minute Banana Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookies
  • 2 over ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon of baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons of salt
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of Cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups oats
After mixing all of the above together real nice, you can add whatever the heck you want!  Really, people just go for it 🙂 
 
If you’re going for a breakfast cookie that is suitable for a pre workout snack, I suggest hitting up these mix-ins:
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries or blueberries
  • chopped almonds, walnuts, pecans or pumpkin seeds
  • some crunchy granola, maybe?  or is that crossing the crazy line? 
If you’re going for more of a dang it I just need some chocolate, dessert type cookie I suggest these mix-ins:
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chunks
  • 1/2 cup chopped dove chocolate
  • 1/2 cup Reese’s pieces or M&Ms
  • 1/2 cup chopped chocolate covered pomegranates or almonds
As for tonight, I mixed in a handful of coconut and a handful of cranberries. 
 
Mmm!  I literally mixed everything together with a fork in a tupper ware container and added my last sprinkle of cranberries just as Wiley and Halle pulled up to my house…so I snapped on the lid and raced out the door…off to the cabin!!
 
This is the view from the living room 🙂
 
 
 
And here is the finished product!
 
 
I have to admit…it did not hit me until I was sliding the cookies onto a cooling rack that, perhaps, the time I bring a dessert as a treat for a crowd is not the optimal time for a spontaneous, untested recipe…But here I was, serving up the cookies….all I could do now was cross my fingers and hope they had burned there tongues enough on the chili to dull their taste if my cookies really sucked.
 
Well either the Wilson family is a group of dang good actors, or these cookies weren’t half bad because no one spit them back out or asked me to leave.  Yay!
 
Personally, I loved them.  They were warm and moist and full of peanut butter Cinnamon flavor with tart craisons and toasted coconut. 
 
 
Another thing I am just loving is this new hobby of making up my own recipes.  I’ve always loved creating new ways to cook pasta and prepare sandwiches or salads…but creative baking is uncharted waters…usually people are pretty uptight about baking.
 
Add this so it rises.  Add this so it is moist.  Add this so it is sweet.  After awhile, you start to remember the basic components of what makes a cookie a cookie and you can take off running and substitute bananas for butter.
 
Why not?!  Sure they might turn out tasting like old socks, but hey, you gotta risk it to get the biscuit.  
 
 
p.s thanks Renell for the most amazing chilli and Grandma Carol for the corn bread muffins 🙂  I was not lying when I said it was some of the best!
 
 
 
One thought on “Risk It To Get the Biscuit

  1. Boo to the Ya to the yay to the aaaaahhhhh!! I think you've gone ape for oats my daughter 🙂 Went to b-fast this a.m. at Grains of Montana and bought you your very own bag of their special mix. Will bring up in November!!

Leave a Reply

