A First For Everything

There really is a first for everything….and this week marks the beginning of many exciting events in my life. My first sophmore year of college and my first year living in my sorority house!
A smaller first on my list of new things to conquer was my first Green Monster.  My first what?! Yes you heard right…a smoothie that has some type of greens in it….like kale, spinach or romaine lettuce.
I have to admit I was a little bit nervous.  I am a huge fan of the blog  Eat, Live, Run by Jenna Weber and she is always making these green smoothies…..this whole Summer I’ve been telling myself I’d try it but never got around to it until the day I came home from the natural grocers with a huge bunch of kale.

So on Sunday, after going to the Billings farmers market with the parents, running errands, and 3 mile run in the sun; I was ready for the monster.

I loaded up the blender with 1 cup of milk. 1 frozen banana. 1 scoop of chocolate protein powder. Crushed ice. And a lot of torn up kale.  Then I closed my eyes and pressed blend……

The result? A smooth glass of what looked like very thick pesto!!

And you know what? It wasn’t half bad! Did it taste like an awesome triple chocolate banana brownie with hot fudge? No…not at all.  But it certainly did not taste like watered down kale. It was thick, creamy, a little icy and mostly tasted like chocolate and bananas.

Most drinkers of this unusual smoothie will have to endure some heckling and/or judgement…..my boyfriend thinks I’m nuts….but it left me with an empty glass and a smile!  I would suggest this to anyone who is looking for a energizing smoothie packed with fruit, veggies and protein; it makes a great breakfast or lazy dinner.

But if you’re still not feelin it, perhaps you will enjoy my next post about the butterscotch chip oatmeal cookies I ate for dessert after my monster….it’s coming soon!

One thought on “A First For Everything

Leave a Reply

