Chocolate Covered Cherry Oatcakes

008

Oatcakes??

Think Pancakes. With Oats!

I think it’s fair to say that we are all pretty fond of pancakes (or oatcakes).

But who has time to whip up a batch of flap jacks during the week?  Certainly  not I…I make it to class with about 2 seconds to spare on my good days so prepping and cooking a hot breakfast would not fit into my schedule very well!

But there is hope!

What about pancake batter that is made the night before?  All you have to do is pour them in a hot pan, wait, flip and eat!

And what about a pancake batter full of protein, fiber and yummy chocolate?  If y’all can’t make time for that; we need to talk.

These pancakes are a lot like my cinnamon peach yogurt pancakes except they have cherry yogurt and cocoa powder in them!  Yum!

While they may taste like dessert for Breakfast, they are actually the breakfast of champions. (No added sugar!  No processed flour; instead, ground up oats that are full of fiber! Egg whites for protein! CHOCOLATE!)

To make these you throw all this in a blender:

  • 1 container 6 oz container of cherry flavored yogurt (strawberry would be good too!  I used Yoplait light Wild Cherry)
  • 6 oz of plain Greek yogurt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 and 1/3 cups of oats
  • two generous tablespoons of cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder

Blend these ingredients until smooth and then try, just try, not to drink it with a straw and save it until the next morning.

That, friends, is the biggest challenge involved with this recipe.

Cook your cakes and top them with raspberries, strawberries, bananas, chocolate chips, honey….whateva floats your boat!

Feast your eyes…

007

 

I had these for breakfast this morning and was a little disapointed because I couldn’t taste the cocoa as much once they were cooked…and I think they could definitely benefit from a sprinkle of salt, cinnamon and a little honey in the batter!  But when topped with fresh fruit they are an instant hit!  This recipe made about 5 pancakes and I split the batch with my sister Olivia; she really liked them too!

Besides chocolate pancakes, I’ve had the topic of Dreams on my mind lately.

No,  no not like the dreams that happen when you fall asleep.  More like my hopes for tomorrow.

 

002

 

Currently, I dream about learning how to ride a bike with no hands.

Okay…I’ve been dreaming about that for a longgggggggg time but I’m no where near coordinated enough.

I’m also dreaming about becoming certified to teach Oula (a super fun dance fitness class that was created in Missoula!)

Traveling abroad

Taking a cake decorating class.

Buying jewelry from Noondayseriously, check this company out.

I think it’s healthy and good to always have dreams :)  It don’t matter if you’re a five year old dreaming to be a princess or 67 and dreaming to go back to college for your degree.

What are you dreaming of?!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Covered Cherry Oatcakes

  1. Riding your bike with no hands? Can you say ‘Bike Helmet?’ (I never did that when I was a kid)

    Dad.

    ________________________________

    1. hahahah I’ve got one hand down but it wouldn’t be a bad idea at all to strap on a helmet for the no hands….before long I’ll be riding around that unicycle of Kellys ;)

Leave a Reply

